top of page
Writer's pictureAnna Crumbie

How the DHC story happened

This semester I am taking my first news writing course at UNT. It is a Junior level course which is shaping up to be very fast paced and a good kind of challenging. I want to take this class because I want to learn how to efficiently gather useful information and turn it into a powerful story.


My first story is about the Denton Hunger Coalition, specifically the once a month mobile pantry they facilitate. While writing it I have learned a lot about the issue of hunger in Denton county and how it is dealt with. I also learned that while it may be easy to network between leaders of organizations that work together, nothing is the same as getting boots on the ground and covering the events you’re writing about. This has become a problem because my story is just told from one perspective, the leadership perspective of those who run the coalition and a leader of one of its participating organizations. I missed an opportunity to reach out to volunteers or people who are served by DHC and get their perspective at the mobile pantry last Saturday and contacting them over the internet has so far been unsuccessful.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page