top of page
Writer's pictureAnna Crumbie

Shiloh Garden Blog

I had been wanting to do a story on a garden for a while. My dad has a 300+ square foot garden at home which I miss spending time in. Even though I didn’t think I’d be able to get dirt under my fingernails during this story I still wanted to be a tiny part of a springtime garden this semester. I first pitched the idea of pictures at a garden to go with a story about the Denton Community Market, but that never happened. Then for my profile story I originally wanted to talk with a volunteer at Grace Like Rain ministries in Denton, Texas, but I never got an email back on that source. So, with only a day or two left before deadline, I contacted Mr. Dean at Shiloh Field Community Garden. He did not have time to talk with me before the deadline but suggested that I call Mr. Gene Gumfory and see if he would. Gumfory was also busy until after the deadline but said I could come to the Saturday harvest to talk and take pictures if I wanted. So, I contacted professor Nevins to ask for an extension and she granted it!


That Saturday, March 31, I got up bright and early to be at the garden at 8 a.m. It was a beautiful morning and I wandered around the garden watching Mr. Gumfory, asking questions, and occasionally slinging my camera over my shoulder to harvest some green onions or feed the chickens some grass. I am very glad that my previous story ideas fell through, and that I got the extension, because I really enjoyed my time at the Shiloh Field that day.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Stats Story Blog

You know, there’s more than one reason us journalism students aren’t math majors... When I heard we would have to do a story based on...

Comments


bottom of page